Wednesday, May 23, 2007

Ange - Par Les Fils De Mandrin [1976 ]

Formed in late 1969 by brothers Christian Descamps (vocals) and Francis Descamps (keyboards) and later joined by guitarist Jean-Michel Brézovar, bassist Daniel Haas and Gérard Jelsh on drums, this French symphonic progressive rock band, similar to contemporaries such as Genesis and King Crimson, is undoubtedly France’s most important prog band. Marrying prog rock influences with French folk and theatrical vocals à la Jacques Brel (Ange covered Ces Gens-là from Brel, and it turned out to be their first hit in 1970), Ange’s music, but mostly their lyrics, are second to none. Thirty years later, after multiple lineup changes, charismatic and theatrical frontman Christian Descamps leads the new Ange generation alongside his son Tristan on keyboards, Hassan Hajdi on guitars, Thierry Sidhoun on bass, Caroline Crozat on vocals and Benoît Cazzulini on drums.
The classic line up (except for the drummer which changed often) recorded many cult classics, such as « Caricatures », « Le Cimetière des Arlequins », and a series of masterpieces like « Au-delà du Délire », « Émile Jacotey », « Par les Fils de Mandrin » and « Guet-Apens ». 10 years after « Guet-Apens », the same lineup would reunite and release two albums, « Sève qui Peut » in 1989 and « Les larmes du Dalaï-Lama » in 1992. While being modern, these albums nevertheless captured the main ingredients unique to Ange. Their latest albums, « Culinaire Lingus » and « ? » see the band as inspired and pertinent as ever, as if Descamps had found the secret of eternal youth.


1. Par les Fils de Mandrin (4:48)
2. Au Café du Colibri (4:02)
3. Ainsi s'en ira la pluie (6:08)
4. Autour du Feu (3:06)
5. Saltimbanques (4:15)
6. Des yeux Couleur d'Enfants (4:20)
7. Atlantis "les géants de la 3e Lune" (5:05)
8. Hymne à la Vie (9:44)
a) Cantique (4:15)
b) Procession (3:52)
c) Hymne (1:37)

Total Time: 41:28

Get it Here

Password in comments.

Friday, May 18, 2007

Aphrodite's Child - End Of The World [1968]

The short story of APHRODITE’S CHILD starts in 1968, when the Greek/Egyptian bassist and vocalist named Artemios Ventouris Roussos (Demis Roussos) and the powerful drummer Lucas Sideras were supposed to meet the multi instrumentalist Evengelio Odyssey Papathanassiou (VANGELIS) who had left his first group FORMINXS, but the first two were not admitted to England because they had no working permits but custom officers discovered photos and tapes in their luggage so they assumed the musicians intended to stay.
A few months later the three musicians join in Paris with Anargyros Koulouris (Silver Koulouris) a very competent guitar player and they decide to form a new band which was supposed to mix traditional Greek music with Western Pop and Psychedelia, but they ended doing much more than was expected.

Due to their financial situation they had to sign a terrible contract with a record company. Soon after the birth of the band, Silver Kouloris has to leave the group because he was called for his Military Service and only joins again for the recording of their last album 666, during these years Demis Roussos has to play guitar and bass. More...

1. End of the World (3:13)
2. Don't Try to Catch a River (3:38)
3. Mister Thomas (2:52)
4. Rain and Tears (3:10)
5. The Grass is No Green (6:05)
6. Valley of Sadness (3:13)
7. You always Stand in My Way (3:55)
8. The Shepherd and the Moon (3:04)
9. Day of the Fool (5:50)

Total Time: 37:10

Download End of the World

Password in comments.

Wednesday, May 9, 2007

Birth Control - Rebirth [1973]

Year: 1973
Genre: Hard Rock/Prog Rock/Krautrock
Country: Germany
Quality: 256 Kbps
Total Time: 38:16
Size: 72 Mb

Peter Foller - bass, vocals, triangle (6)
Bruno Frenzel - guitar, vocals, Alto sax (2)
Zeus B. Held - keyboards, mellotron, flute (5), trumpet & trombone (2)
Bernd Noske - drums, percussion, vocals, Moog drum (7)
Dirk Steffens - lead guitar, vocals, acoustic guitar (3)

Track Listings:
1. She's Got Nothing On You (5:04)
2. Mister Hero (6:42)
3. Grandjeanville (1:03)
4. No Shade Is Real (4:41)
5. M.P.C. (1:56)
6. Together Alone Tonight (10:28)
7. Back from hell (8:08)

Password in comments.