Friday, May 18, 2007

Aphrodite's Child - End Of The World [1968]

The short story of APHRODITE’S CHILD starts in 1968, when the Greek/Egyptian bassist and vocalist named Artemios Ventouris Roussos (Demis Roussos) and the powerful drummer Lucas Sideras were supposed to meet the multi instrumentalist Evengelio Odyssey Papathanassiou (VANGELIS) who had left his first group FORMINXS, but the first two were not admitted to England because they had no working permits but custom officers discovered photos and tapes in their luggage so they assumed the musicians intended to stay.
A few months later the three musicians join in Paris with Anargyros Koulouris (Silver Koulouris) a very competent guitar player and they decide to form a new band which was supposed to mix traditional Greek music with Western Pop and Psychedelia, but they ended doing much more than was expected.

Due to their financial situation they had to sign a terrible contract with a record company. Soon after the birth of the band, Silver Kouloris has to leave the group because he was called for his Military Service and only joins again for the recording of their last album 666, during these years Demis Roussos has to play guitar and bass. More...

1. End of the World (3:13)
2. Don't Try to Catch a River (3:38)
3. Mister Thomas (2:52)
4. Rain and Tears (3:10)
5. The Grass is No Green (6:05)
6. Valley of Sadness (3:13)
7. You always Stand in My Way (3:55)
8. The Shepherd and the Moon (3:04)
9. Day of the Fool (5:50)

Total Time: 37:10

Download End of the World

Password in comments.


virshla said...


djkit dj fanis said...

virshla you have good taste in music for your age(if you are only 20 years old).keep on the good work.cheers.